What are Uber Eats' menu photo requirements?
Uber Eats accepts menu item photos from 550 to 10,000 pixels wide and 440 to 10,000 tall, as JPG, PNG or GIF, under 10 MB, framed between 5:4 and 6:4. Cover images are a separate spec: 2880 x 2304, 5:4, JPEG. Review takes up to 3 business days.
Su Smith · Founder, MenuPhotoLab
Six years photographing Atlanta restaurants, and two running SocialLee, uploading their menus to DoorDash, Uber Eats and Grubhub.
Sources last read · 8 sources
What size do Uber Eats menu photos need to be?
Uber publishes bounds rather than a target. Item photos have a floor and a ceiling on both dimensions, and the cover image at the top of your store page is a separate specification with an exact size. I read both on 2026-08-30.
| Menu item photo | Cover image | |
|---|---|---|
| Width | 550 to 10,000 px | 2880 px |
| Height | 440 to 10,000 px | 2304 px |
| Aspect ratio | Between 5:4 and 6:4 | 5:4 |
| File types | JPG, PNG or GIF | JPEG |
| File size | Max 10 MB | Not stated separately |
| Where it appears | Beside the item on your menu | Top of your store page in the app |
Two things in that table are worth a second look, because both are unusual.
Uber publishes a maximum resolution. Neither DoorDash nor Grubhub does. If a file is larger than 10,000 pixels on either side it is out of spec, which is a rule you can only break with a scan or a stitched panorama, but it is stated and the others do not state it.
The floor is itself exactly 5:4. 550 by 440 is 1.25:1, which is the narrow end of the accepted range rather than a number chosen independently of it. So the minimum size and the minimum shape are the same rule expressed twice.
What gets an Uber Eats photo rejected?
Uber's list is the most explicit of the three platforms, and unlike DoorDash's it is written as a set of flat prohibitions rather than as advice. A photo must not:
Contain more than one single item. The photo has to represent one item from your menu. A combo shot, a spread, or the dish with its side and a drink is out. This is stricter than it sounds for anyone photographing a platter.
Depict people, except for hands. Hands are carved out explicitly, in the rule itself.
Contain logos or watermarks, or any text or words. Both carry the same exception: text and branding that genuinely appear on the food or its packaging are allowed. A watermark you added is not.
Be blurry or out of focus, or have strong shadows or insufficient lighting.
Depict an unsanitary environment, which Uber spells out as dirty surfaces, plating, packaging or used cutlery.
Infringe anyone else's rights. Uber states separately that you must own or have the right to use your images.
There is also a positive framing rule, and it is the one most likely to catch a good photo: the item must be framed in the center, and Uber adds that items should not appear at the corners or off frame. A dramatic off center composition that looks like editorial food photography is out of spec here even when it is a better picture.
Separate category rules apply on top of these. Uber prohibits images of smoke related products including tobacco, vapes, cigars, CBD and e cigars, prohibits infant formula, and prohibits items requiring a prescription. For alcohol, Uber asks that images be referential with no particular brand displayed.
| Rule | Uber Eats | DoorDash | Grubhub |
|---|---|---|---|
| Hands in frame | Allowed, stated as an exception to the no people rule | Allowed if not distracting or obscuring the item | Prohibited, no body parts |
| More than one item | Prohibited | Prohibited, no extra dishes, packaging or drinks | Not stated |
| Added text or watermarks | Prohibited | Prohibited | Limited text, food focused |
| Stock or third party imagery | Prohibited, you must hold the rights | Prohibited | Prohibited except corporate chain photos |
| Published review time | Up to 3 business days | Not published | Not published |
| Appeal route | None published. Fix and resubmit | Undocumented, but a Request review control exists in Menu Manager | None published |
How long does Uber Eats take to approve a photo?
Up to 3 business days. Uber is the only one of the three major platforms that publishes a review time at all.
You upload through Menu Maker in Uber Eats Manager: open the item, drop the photo into the Photo section, save, then click Request Approval. The photo then sits at Pending until it becomes Approved or Rejected. On a rejection, Uber shows a See Reasons link with the specific reasons, and the same reasons are emailed.
What Uber does not publish is an appeal. Their instruction after a rejection is to edit the photo and submit it again, which is also the only route Grubhub documents.
DoorDash is the exception, and not in its documentation either: its merchant portal puts a Request review control on the rejection notice, with wording inviting you to use it if you think the rejection was a mistake. We verified that in the portal on 2026-08-30 and it is shown on our DoorDash rejection guide. So of the three, one has a contest path and hides it, and two appear to have none at all.
Can customers add photos to your Uber Eats menu?
Yes, and this is the part of Uber's system most restaurant owners do not know about.
Uber runs a customer photo programme. In Uber's own words, customers "can now submit photos of their purchased items for review," and "reviewed and accepted photos may be featured on the restaurant's Uber Eats page." Uber adds that accepted photos "may appear on the restaurant's Uber Eats store page within 1-5 business days" and "may also be featured on the restaurant's menu or for other promotional purposes."
Uber reviews these for relevance, quality and adherence to its user generated content terms, and tells customers not to submit AI generated or heavily edited images. So there is a filter. But the filter is Uber's, and the photo is of your food, taken in whatever light the customer happened to be sitting in, after a delivery.
Uber does not publish a merchant opt out or a removal route on either of its customer photo pages. I looked for one on 2026-08-30 and could not find it. That is a statement about what is documented, not a claim that no route exists. If this matters to you, ask your Uber Eats representative directly rather than assuming either way.
Can you use Uber Eats photoshoot photos on DoorDash?
Uber's page does not say you cannot. DoorDash's pages do, though not in the same words twice. Those are different situations and the difference matters.
Uber offers qualifying restaurants one complimentary photo shoot during onboarding, with additional shoots available by scheduling. The photographer covers individual items plus one profile image, and the finished files are emailed to you and to your Uber Eats representative. On the same page Uber writes: "Feel free to use the photos in your own marketing, too."
DoorDash's equivalent pages go the other direction, and DoorDash writes the rule three different ways. Its merchant blog, read 2026-09-04, makes it a prohibition: "You use these photos on DoorDash, your website, social media accounts, and promotional materials. You cannot use the photos on any other third-party delivery platforms." Its help centre makes it a request, on the same day, on two separate pages: "These images are yours to keep, we only ask that you don't use the photos on any other third-party delivery platforms," and "Please don't use these images on other third-party delivery platforms."
That gap is worth holding onto. "Cannot" and "we only ask" are not the same instruction, all three pages are DoorDash's own, and none of them acknowledges the others. It is the same shape as DoorDash publishing two file-size caps on one page, and as Grubhub publishing two photo specs that disagree.
Do not read Uber's silence as permission. "Your own marketing" is a phrase about your website, your social accounts and your printed menu. It is not obviously a phrase about a competing delivery marketplace, and a merchant marketing page is not the contract. The binding terms are in the agreement you signed with each platform, and they are the thing to check before a file crosses from one app to another.
The reason this comes up at all is that a free platform shoot is only free for the platform that ran it. If the photos you own outright are the ones you paid for or shot yourself, that constraint disappears, and it is the single clearest reason a restaurant on three marketplaces ends up wanting photos that belong to it.
What this means if you sell on more than one platform
Uber Eats is the most forgiving of the three on shape, and completely incompatible with DoorDash on it.
Uber accepts anything from 1.25:1 to 1.5:1. Grubhub's developer specification is 4:3, which is 1.33:1 and lands in the middle of that band. Grubhub's help centre says 1:1, which is 1.0 and falls off the narrow end. DoorDash accepts 16:9 only, which is 1.78:1 and falls off the wide end. There is no single file that is a legal shape on both Uber Eats and DoorDash.
That leaves one workable plan, and it is a shooting decision rather than an export setting. Shoot 4:3 with the dish centred and give it room on all four sides. From that original you can export a 4:3 for Uber Eats and Grubhub, a square for Grubhub's help centre spec, and a 16:9 for DoorDash by cropping the top and bottom. The reverse never works: a 16:9 file has already thrown away the height that Uber Eats and Grubhub both need, and no amount of editing puts it back.
Uber's own centring rule pushes you the same way. If the item must not appear at the corners or off frame, the composition that satisfies Uber is also the composition that survives being cut to a different rectangle for somebody else.
| DoorDash | Uber Eats | Grubhub | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Item photo shape | 16:9 landscape | 5:4 to 6:4 landscape | 1:1 to 4:3, Grubhub's own docs disagree |
| Minimum size | 1400 x 800 px | 550 x 440 px | 200 x 200 px |
| File types | JPG or PNG | JPG, PNG, or GIF | PNG per the help center; PNG, JPEG or JPG per the developer docs |
| File size cap | 2 MB stated, 16 MB for item photos | 10 MB | Not stated |
| Source | Read 2026-08-26 | Read 2026-08-30 | Read 2026-08-27 |
Frequently asked questions
What size do Uber Eats menu photos need to be?
Uber Eats accepts menu item photos between 550 and 10,000 pixels wide and between 440 and 10,000 pixels tall, at an aspect ratio between 5:4 and 6:4, saved as JPG, PNG or GIF, up to 10 MB. The cover image at the top of your store page is a separate specification: 2880 by 2304 pixels, 5:4, in JPEG format.
Does Uber Eats accept 16:9 photos?
No. Uber Eats asks for an aspect ratio between 5:4 and 6:4, which is 1.25:1 to 1.5:1. A 16:9 photo is 1.78:1, wider than the accepted range. Since 16:9 is the only shape DoorDash accepts for item photos, a file exported for DoorDash is out of range on Uber Eats before its content is judged at all.
Can hands be in an Uber Eats photo?
Yes. Uber Eats prohibits photos that depict people, then carves out hands explicitly in the same rule. DoorDash also permits hands, as long as they stay out of focus, off to the side, and do not obscure the item. Grubhub does not: its rules prohibit body parts and give hands holding food as the example. Keep hands out if you sell on all three.
How long does Uber Eats take to review a photo?
Up to 3 business days. After you upload through Menu Maker and click Request Approval, the photo sits at Pending until it is Approved or Rejected. A rejected photo shows a See Reasons link listing the specific reasons, which are also emailed. Uber publishes no appeal route: the documented next step is to correct the photo and submit it again.
Can customers post photos of my food on my Uber Eats page?
Yes. Uber Eats lets customers submit photos of items they ordered, and states that reviewed and accepted photos may be featured on the restaurant's Uber Eats page, may appear on the store page within 1 to 5 business days, and may also be featured on the restaurant's menu or used for other promotional purposes. Uber does not publish a merchant opt out on those pages.
Can I use my Uber Eats photoshoot photos on DoorDash?
Uber does not say you cannot, and encourages using them in your own marketing. DoorDash's merchant blog states the opposite about its own free shoot: those photos may be used on DoorDash, your website, social media and promotional materials, but not on any other third party delivery platform. Silence on one page is not permission, so check the merchant agreement you signed rather than either marketing page.
Not sure whether a photo you already have will pass?
Run it through the free Photo Rejection Checker. It tests the size, shape, format and file size of any photo against each platform's published specs, and lists the content rules alongside. No signup.
Check a photoKeep reading

Su Smith
Founder, MenuPhotoLab · Atlanta, Georgia
I have photographed Atlanta restaurants for six years as a food creator, and for the last two my sister and I have run SocialLee, shooting and uploading menus for independent restaurants around metro Atlanta. I wrote this page the way I wish the platforms had written theirs: every number read off their own documentation, with the date I read it, and where they contradict themselves I say so.
Sources
- Uber Help, Merchant submitted menu catalog photo guidelines (item photo size, shape, format and prohibitions), read
- Uber Help, Store submitted menu photo guidelines (the same rules, restated), read
- Uber Help, Adding cover images and menu catalog photos (cover spec, upload path, 3 business day review), read
- Uber Help, User-Submitted Photos FAQ (customer photos on a merchant's store page), read
- Uber Eats for Merchants, Restaurant menu photography guidelines (complimentary shoot and its usage wording), read
- DoorDash for Merchants, Menu photography (the competing usage restriction, quoted), read
- DoorDash Help Center, Free DoorDash Photoshoots (the same rule stated as a request), read
- DoorDash Help Center, How to Book a Free DoorDash Photoshoot (session length, item count, who pays), read
Platform requirements change. This page carries the date each source was last checked.
Not affiliated with Uber Eats, DoorDash, Grubhub.
